Vegan Waffle Toppings: General Ideas, Preparation Required

While The Global Vegan Waffle Cookbook and this website provide plenty of topping ideas, the possibilities are virtually endless. For some of the vegan waffle toppings below, see the lists of weblinks for vegetarian/vegan recipe websites and vegetarian/vegan cookbooks on this site.

  • Homemade vegan ice cream makes an excellent waffle topping! A few sources for this include Agnes L.’s vegan ice cream recipe blog , and Jeff Rogers’ exciting Vice Cream vegan ice cream cookbook . We picked up a small ice cream maker from a neighborhood moving sale, and went to town. Even though we have 5 ice cream shops within a mile of our house, I prefer to make the cashew-based ice creams–the 2008 waffle party will likely feature a dark chocolate/peanut butter combo.
  • Vegan cheese alternatives, as found in The Uncheese Cookbook–my favorites there include the relatively easy-to-make “Parmezano” powder as well as the more complex but excellent-tasting “crock cheeze.”

  • Homemade vegan whipped cream alternatives are just as great on waffles as their non-vegan counterparts.

  • Homemade chocolate syrups are one of my favorite waffle toppings. I use a recipe that combines cocoa powder, sugar, soymilk, Earth Balance, and vanilla, and sometimes add amaretto, mint, or other flavorings.

  • Fruit syrups can be a real crowd pleaser. The pomegranate marionberry topping pictured above, by Megan M. was quite a treat.
  • Bean-based dishes. This includes, chilis, beans with greens,  salsa with beans, and bean dips.

  • Homemade hummus can make a great vegan waffle topping. There are a ton of recipes on the internet for this–it’s fairly easy to make in a food processor. If this sounds good to you, you might also enjoy the Pickled Mango Tahini Topping.

  • Skim the posts of past vegan waffle party highlights, as I often list some of the delicious and creative toppings that people brought. A guest at this party made vegan nettles with mushrooms, onions, and olive oil, pictured below.
vegan nettles, a savory waffle topping
vegan nettles with onions, mushrooms, and olive oil

2 thoughts on “Vegan Waffle Toppings: General Ideas, Preparation Required”

  1. Hiya guys!

    I just found this on …. I’ve read so many maple syrup ideas on this site that I figured this info may be rather important …. (sorry to all you ms lovers out there!) :

    Maple syrup – Maple syrup requires an agent to reduce the foam on the syrup. This is done by adding a small amount of fat to the liquid. Vegetable oil is a common defoaming agent, but lard, milk, cream, butter or a defoamer containing monoglycerides and diglycerides from either animal or vegetable sources can be used.

    Great luck with the veganism! I know I love it!

  2. K,

    Thanks so much for your comment, as I’m often learning things myself and appreciate input that helps to make this site a more informative resource for others.

    As this runs contrary to information I’ve come across (e.g., VegSource and the IVU), I’d appreciate any more specific information you come across on this, either from reputable sources or in your own research. This would include any specific vendors that have been confirmed as using/not using the animal derivatives that can be used. If such data show that this is a common practice that I’m not aware of, I’d then consider posting a more formal caveat on this site.

    The best advice I would have in the meantime would be to check with your specific source to confirm their processes, as is the case with sweeteners such as cane sugar.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.